MYC History

Middlesex Yacht Club was founded in 1896 and is as vibrant as ever!


The Mattabesett Canoe Club was organized January 7, 1896 by a group of canoe enthusiasts and what became of that is now The Middlesex Yacht Club (MYC). The first location was on land owned by the Davis family at the foot of College Street on the Connecticut River in Middletown. A clubhouse was built there at a cost of $400 and rented on a three-year lease of $80 a year.

The initiation fee was $5, active dues $8 and associate dues $5. Only active members could hold office, had to have a boat and live within a six-mile radius of the Club.

On February 1905 the Club’s name was changed to “The Middletown Yacht Club.” A year later the Club bought the club- house with a sizeable piece of land for $5,700.

The Rudder Magazine sponsored the first long distance race to Huntington, L.I. starting at our club on September 16, 1911. We were fast outgrowing our club facilities and after much planning, we commissioned a new clubhouse (now Mattabesett Canoe Club Restaurant) on May 30, 1916.

MYC held the largest boat race in the East on June 30, 1923, attracting participants from all over including many famous boating enthusiasts. Outboard races began at MYC on August 28, 1928 and various outboard associations held their races at our club for a number of years.

Original MYC location

In may of 1945, T.M. Russell Jr. found a piece of property in Maromas (a section in Middletown, CT) for our third clubhouse. We built a smaller clubhouse here. It was nearer to the sound, more private, and the flooding did not bother us as much. The winds in the area were ideal for small sailboats and several classes were raced.

In 1947, dues were raised to $25 active, $15 associate. The club was planning boat slips in 1954 when we were notified that our property was taken over by the government for a new atomic laboratory. By 1957 we made a settlement with the government in which they bought the property for $32,125 and we bought back the building at the salvage value of $400. We then floated the material we needed down the river to our new location and used it in our present club which we bought for $31,000. An additional amount of $25,000 for renovations was raised by 3% debenture bonds.

Middlesex Yacht Club

In 1959, the marina was built and slips rented. Again the dues were raised, this time to $50.

Improvements continued. The swimming pool was built in the late sixties; the ballroom was enlarged; grounds improved; marina improved;clubhouse remodeled inside and out; including a new addition for the galley and remodeled restrooms. In the mid 1990's a major dock restoration project started with B dock in the basin area. Later that century A dock basin and river were restored.

In 1998, a vote was taken to change to "The Middlesex Yacht Club," a change that more accurately identifies the club's community it serves. In 2002, club facilities improved with the pool house and B floating docks.

M.Y.C. is a club to be proud of, a rich history that spans 122 years. 1896-2018

John Stellenwerf, Club Historian 2016



Middlesex Yacht Club History